Day out in Notting Hill and Electric Cinema

I love movies. I love them so much that I signed up for the Cineworld £14.99/month deal to watch as many movies as I want.

But cinemas are so modernised these days that we forget about the traditional cinema experiences.

Enter Electric Cinema. Given the status as the oldest working Cinema in the country, it has been around since 1910. The facade has an Edwardian Baroque style, with the most comfortable seats and even beds!

Check out those comfortable beds in front of my seat!

Check out those comfortable beds in front of my seat!

We booked a special viewing of The Great Gatsby, served with afternoon tea and sandwiches. The majority of the audiences dressed in their 1920s Sunday best. The atmosphere was unbelievably chic and nostalgic. If I felt cold, there were wool blankets in the stools to wrap up, they really have thought of everything!

20130525_172907

Each seat had a little lamp and gift bags!

Each seat had a little lamp and gift bags!

To make a day out of it, we made sure to linger in the near by Portobello Market, browsing through the antiques and sneaking into boutique cupcake shops along the way.

Portobello Market

Portobello Market

I found some nice magnets for the fridge back home. Clearly, I was not antique shopping.

20130525_165057

This man was singing “English Man in New York” with such conviction and such a lovely voice. I couldn’t help but linger and listen.

20130525_164509

On the way back from Portobello Road, I felt in awe of the beautiful buildings in this area of town. Having lived in a newly built area of London, I sometime wished that I can live in an old Victorian house one day, despite the banging radiators and creaky floors.

20130525_162401

20130525_162910

Leave a Reply

