Corner Room – My MasterChef Connection

Boy oh boy…I was tipsy toe-ing with glee when we finally had our booking to the Corner Room before my big 2-2 (yes I will be 22 forever) birthday drinks at Carbon Bar.

I love Selfridges…for the shopping. But I never ate a proper meal in the department store before. When I heard that Keri Moss, the winner of MasterChef Professionals 2012 was starting her new restaurant, we had to check it out ourselves!

As I walked past all the fancy labels on the women’s floor, the Corner Room was elegantly presented in a blue themed art-deco style room with lots of airy windows.

The sitting area with a beautiful L-shaped bar

The sitting area with a beautiful L-shaped bar

The waiter was very friendly and suggested his favourite items on the menu. By the way, they were all spot-on! Our game plan: we opted to share the starter and dessert, always a good way to eat good food without stuffing ourselves.

Starter: Diver-caught Cornish seared scallops, cauliflower & bone marrow (highly recommended, if you are a seafood lover like me)

Yummmmy....

Yummmmy….

Main Course: Sea bream fillet, peperonata, pine nut pesto

The yellow and red peppers were amazing

The yellow and red peppers were amazing

Dessert: (Get ready for the surprise….it was made with polenta!) Soft and not dry with hints of oranges and a healthy serving of orange chantilly cream

20130518_195015

Keri’s style of cooking was minimalist yet elegant, and full of flavour. I will definitely return with girlfriends to meet for a post-shopping foodie therapy.

2 thoughts on “Corner Room – My MasterChef Connection

    • Thank you! I am really glad you enjoyed reading my blog. I just had my birthday a week ago, at the tender age of 2-0 (haha maybe cheating a little bit). Looking forward to reading your blog as well!

Leave a Reply

